Connecticut becomes third US state to recognize same-sex marriage

Mirabile dictu!

Reuters reports, October 10, 2008, that the Supreme Court of Connecticut has struck down a state law banning same-sex marriage.  This makes Connecticut the third of three states of the USA that permit couples to marry if they are of the same sex.  The court overturned the rulings of lower courts and recognized that the marriage ban did “cognizable harm” and infringed on a “fundamental right” of same-sex couples.

2 Responses

  1. In response to the comment you left on my blog post:

    A person or a private religious establishment should not be forced to act against their beliefs. It undermines religion, one of the reasons the American colonists seceded from England. Marriage is a religious institution, and has been so for millennia. For the government to step in and redefine marriage is a violation of the separation of church and state. “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.” Religious institutions are private institutions and have a right to oppose against same-sex couples.

    You say religion is not “an excuse to deny other people their rights as citizens”. On the other end of the spectrum, I say lack of religion is no “excuse to deny other people their rights as citizens”. Homosexuals and, if I may, atheists do not appreciate others imposing their religious views on society, and I understand that. As a Mormon, I do not appreciate persons of other Christian denominations accusing me as being evil and going to hell for my beliefs and lifestyle automatically labeling me as wicked (and, again for the record, while I do not agree with homosexual lifestyles, I in no way hate homosexuals nor view them as evil people). You may see religious people as forcing their beliefs on everyone, but, as a Christian, I feel that everyone is trying to force their beliefs on me–or rather take away something that I hold very near and dear to me. I completely understand that religion is not the best argument against same-sex marriage; perhaps I did not argue my non-religious reasons for opposing it well enough. For such reasons, I highly recommend you read <a href=”the Family Research Council’s arguments against same-sex marriage . Some of their arguments are from a religious point of view, but their non-religious ones are quite excellent. (I also warn that some of their information may be out of date, but for the most part what they have to say is applicable regardless of the year.)

    Thank you for your response.

Comments are closed.

